

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

December 11, 2019, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 450 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Dr. Joanna Lein, Katherine Nations, Kenneth

Parker, and Ryan Walters

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Secretary Rogers, John Daniel, and Brett

MacArthur

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Renée Launey-Rodolf,

Lecrecia Schmidt, and Jerry Shay

VISITORS: Dr. Robyn Miller, Oklahoma State Department of

Education; Dr. Jerry Mihelic, East Central University; Nat Barrack, Oklahoma State

Department of Education; Dr. Goldie Thompson, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education; Dr. Aiyana Henry, University of Oklahoma; Dr. Teresa DeBacker, University of Oklahoma; Craig Walker, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Dr. Robin Fuxa, Oklahoma State University; Dr. Stewart Mayer, Southeastern Oklahoma State University; Dr. Todd Williams, Southeastern Oklahoma State University; Dr. Jerry Stout, Southeastern Oklahoma State University

Call to Order: Mr. Parker called the meeting to order at 1:39 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Mr. Parker asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig, OEQA Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the October 16, 2019 Commission Meeting: Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the minutes of the October 16, 2019 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Walters seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:absentMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. MacArthur:absentMr. Walters:approve

Secretary Rogers: absent

Discussion and Action on approval of CEQA Meeting Dates for 2020: Mr. Walters made a motion to approve the CEQA meeting dates for 2020 as presented. Dr. Lein seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:absentMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. MacArthur:absentMr. Walters:approve

Secretary Rogers: absent

Discussion and Action on new certification program area for Southeastern Oklahoma State University- Masters of Education Administration. Ms. Nations made a motion to approve the new certification program area for Southeastern Oklahoma State University. Dr. Lein seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:absentMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. MacArthur:absentMr. Walters:approve

Secretary Rogers: absent

Discussion and Action on continued State Accreditation for University of Oklahoma: Dr. Lein made a motion to approve continued state accreditation for University of Oklahoma. Ms. Nations seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: absent Ms. Nations: approve Dr. Lein: approve Mr. Parker: approve Mr. MacArthur: absent Mr. Walters: approve Secretary Rogers: absent

Page 2 of 4

Discussion and Action on continued State Accreditation for Oklahoma City University: Dr. Lein made a motion to approve continued state accreditation for Oklahoma City University. Mr. Walters seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:absentMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. MacArthur:absentMr. Walters:approve

Secretary Rogers: absent

Discussion and Action on Grade 11 Science Performance Level Descriptors for College and Career Readiness Assessment: Ms. Nations made a motion to approve the Grade 11 Science Performance Level Descriptors for College and Career Readiness Assessment as presented. Dr. Lein seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. MacArthur:absentMr. Walters:approve

Secretary Rogers: absent

New Business: None

Program Updates: Ms. Angie Bookout, Senior Coordinator, updated the commission on the school performance reviews. Ms. Renée Launey-Rodolf, Director, gave information on recently added practice tests to the CEOE website and additional resources on our website. Ms. Jennifer Gambrell, Assistant Director, updated the commission on the ninety four recent PPAT candidates that took the test, and the upcoming National Board Summit Meeting. Mr. Jerry Shay gave updates on the State report.

Announcements and Informational Items: Dr. Craig announced that there may not be a need for a January Commission meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 3:00 P.M. The minutes of the December 11, 2019 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted	with corrections
on March 11, 2020.	
Signed:	
Secretary Michael Rogers	Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director